Cadbury’s Take Them And They Cover Them In Chocolate

If there’s one bushcraft skill I admire, it’s foraging.

I’m not very good at it. I can recognise one ot two things, but that’s it. One thing I can spot is cobnuts/hazlenuts/call them what you will.

I was out for a bike ride today. As well as passing an apple orchard (ideal for a good scrump) I passed several hazel trees and saw they had loads of nuts on. So I filled my pockets.

A few quick minutes yielded a couple of pockets full.

When I got home I roasted them in the oven at gas mark 6 for 15 minutes. I suppose roasting them in a pan would have been better and safer, because one of them exploded in the oven.

Anyway, late Summer/early Autumn is a good time to get out there and see what you can find. Sloes (and plums in general) are plentiful this year, as are hips and haws.

(p.s. Sorry about the poor quality of the pictures – taken on a phone camera)

3 Comments

  1. October 5, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Loved your quote on BCUK “Idiots obey rules & laws, wise people use them as guidelines.” quality. Followed your SIG and it brought me here! Blog looks great ‘ll have a read in a mo and if it’s all good (which im sure it will be) I’ll post a link to it from my site (NaturalBushcraft). All the best,
    Ashley Cawley.

  2. December 14, 2009 at 1:28 am

    I too saw you on BCUK and have added you to my blog roll
    SBW

  3. Ally said,

    September 7, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    But… can you find the song to go with your title?


Leave a Reply

