A Damascus Knife

Winter has been going on for too long now.

During Winter is when I tend to do most of my making and mending (as you can tell by the last couple of posts). However, I know my limits. Paul has a really nice knife, and I’ve always wanted one like it. But I’m no knife maker. So I bit the bullet and decided to have one specially made.

And I decided I wanted it in damascus steel.

Damascus steel is made by getting two or more pieces of different steel and then pattern welder them together. The metal is folded several times which means that when it is finished and polished you can see the different layers of metal.

 

My knife was made by Mark Hill (also known as Hillbill). I contacted him via Bushcraft UK (see link in sidebar). We discussed design and what materials to use. The blade is about 3 3/4″ in length and the handle about 4 1/4″. The handle scales are made from walnut. The sheath is made from mahogany dyed leather.

The damscus steel comes out razor sharp. To be honest, I’ve never seen a sharper knife!

This is a fantastic tool. As I’m sure you can imagine, it is something I am immensely pleased and proud of. Anyone wanting to contact Mark will have to hunt him down on the BCUK website (he also uses Bushcraft Living and British Blades – so can be contacted there as well). I promise you that you will not be disappointed with the craftsmanship of his work.

Leave a Reply

