Belt Attachment Points

I bet I’m not the first person to come up with this idea.

However, I did come up with it independently, so I’ve not seen anyone else do it.

Anyway.

Alright, it’s this. Now, using knives, machetes and those kinds of things is pretty much a part of bushcraft. However, it can be a bit of a pain having to undo your belt and pull it out so you can slip the knife sheath on and off. You see, personally, I don’t like having the knife on me all the time. It’s useful to have it to hand when you need it, but once camp is all done and dusted and you’re relaxing, you no longer need the knife immediately to hand. So I like to put it away. But, as I say, you have to undo your belt and so on.

So I had an idea. I had a couple of those key-ring style carabiners. This kind of thing:

What you do, is feed this on to your belt when you’re at home getting ready. You can, of course, do more than one; depending on how many things you want hanging from your belt.

Then, once out in the field, you can easily clip knives, pouches or whatever to your belt and when you want to take them off all you have to do is unclip them rather than undo your belt. It’s much quicker and far more convenient.

All you are left with is the carabiner attached to your belt. I thought these may dig into my side, but they don’t because when you roll on to your side they just lay flat. This makes clipping different things on and off your belt much simpler for different situations (e.g. when out collecting wood you may want your Laplander to hand – just clip it on to your belt for that task. When done, unclip it and clip on whatever other tool you need next).

2 Comments

  1. Takashi said,

    October 12, 2010 at 7:46 am

    “I bet Iā€™m not the first person to come up with this idea”

    No, its a good idea though. šŸ™‚

    I see a lot of people in Scandinavia doing this, for knives, but also for gloves and mittens (but your coat should overhang the top of the gloves so that they don’t get filled with snow).

  2. Gareth said,

    December 26, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I use these for all manner of items on my belt or pack, water bottles, keys, EDC kits etc. But I agree, it’s not very comfortable to have things on ones belt all the time. they getin the way for sitting down, lying in the hammock or bivvy bed etc.

    For the knife though I find it easier to just have it around my neck on a lanyard, that way I can just take it off and put it in a pack when I’m relaxing..
    Cheers
    Gareth


Leave a Reply

