Bannock Burning

Today we had a wet day out.

Paul, Paul’s son Zac, and myself headed out to the woods. It rained all day, which didn’t turn out to be such a problem after all. The wet does bring problems but it also brings with it fun in its own way.

We wanted to use the day to brush up on navigation skills, as well as an experiment for cooking bannock.

We showed Zac how to use a compass and briefly went over how to plot a course and measure your distance. The rain meant I probably went over it all more quickly than I’d have liked, but we showed him how to follow a bearing on the compass and got him to lead our way through 800m of close woodland. He brought us out exactly where we wanted to be so good for him for learning a useful skill! I’m sure his dad (Paul) can revisit how to plot a route and how to count the distance.

Then we made camp. Paul and Zac were in hammocks and I set up my tarp in a ‘Baker tent’ style.

So, the bannock. I’m sure I am not the first to come up with this idea, but I wanted to see if I could use two aluminium frying pans as a kind of Dutch oven. I am very pleased to say it worked very well indeed. Here’s the set up:

This meant micro-managing two small fires. But it all came out very well. We cooked a cheese and onion bannock made with wholemeal flour and we found that baking the bannock, with the heat all round, meant the dough rose really well resulting in a light (and tasty!) bread. Carrying two pans didn’t prove that onerous – they are light and sit inside each other: infinitely preferable to humping a Dutch oven! I’m afraid I didn’t get to take pictures of the final bannock, since we were all hungry and ate it! You’ll just have to take my word for how well it came out.

Zac also made himself a Dutch arrow.

It was a right proper wet day but I don’t think any of us minded in the slightest. You can only get so wet and then it stops being a problem.

Here’s a couple more pictures.

 

1 Comment

  1. Dark Horse Dave said,

    November 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Looks fun! Glad the bannock came out well. I’ve found my old square British Army mess tins work well in the same way.


Leave a Reply

